Freedom through Christ series part 1

11/04/2019

Freedom through Christ

Part 1

John 8:36

John 8:36 If the Son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed. ([KJV]) 

What is freedom?

Webster says: The state of being free; exemption from the power and control of another; liberty; independence.

Now let's go back a few verses. You see Jesus was trying to let them know that he was going to make a way for man kind to have relationship with God that was broken back in the garden. He was trying to let them know that he was there to break the bondage of sin and fulfill the law.

John 8: 28-45

28 Then said Jesus unto them, When ye have lifted up the Son of man, then shall ye know that I am he, and that I do nothing of myself; but as my Father hath taught me, I speak these things. 29 And he that sent me is with me: the Father hath not left me alone; for I do always those things that please him. 30 As he spake these words, many believed on him. 31 Then said Jesus to those Jews which believed on him, If ye continue in my word, then are ye my disciples indeed; 32 And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. 33 They answered him, We be Abraham's seed, and were never in bondage to any man: how sayest thou, Ye shall be made free? 34 Jesus answered them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Whosoever committeth sin is the servant of sin. 35 And the servant abideth not in the house for ever: but the Son abideth ever. 36 If the Son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed. 37 I know that ye are Abraham's seed; but ye seek to kill me, because my word hath no place in you. 38 I speak that which I have seen with my Father: and ye do that which ye have seen with your father. 39 They answered and said unto him, Abraham is our father. Jesus saith unto them, If ye were Abraham's children, ye would do the works of Abraham. 40 But now ye seek to kill me, a man that hath told you the truth, which I have heard of God: this did not Abraham. 41 Ye do the deeds of your father. Then said they to him, We be not born of fornication; we have one Father, even God. 42 Jesus said unto them, If God were your Father, ye would love me: for I proceeded forth and came from God; neither came I of myself, but he sent me. 43 Why do ye not understand my speech? even because ye cannot hear my word. 44 Ye are of your father the devil, and the lusts of your father ye will do. He was a murderer from the beginning, and abode not in the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he speaketh a lie, he speaketh of his own: for he is a liar, and the father of it. 45 And because I tell you the truth, ye believe me not. ( [KJV])

A man on death row might be free without knowing it. A pardon may have been issued, but the news has not yet reached his ears. All the while the prisoner is wringing his hands, fearing death. He is already pardoned and free by the word of the governor but not yet set at liberty- not "Free indeed"

We are surrounded by people that are in the darkness, we are surround by those who are in bondage of legalism, Jesus was trying to let them know about the freedom through him.

There are three basic types of dogs, and all people seem to fit into one of these three types of dogs. The wild dog, the dog on a chain and the family pet.

The wild dog roams the city streets at will. Stealing meals from garbage cans, and comes and goes as he pleases, seeks shelter where he can.

Oh the good life no one to tie him down, but in the end with the wild dog one of three things can happen. He can be found lying on the side of the road dead by being hit by a car. He can find his end at the hands of the local dog pound being put to death after being captured if no one claims him or he can go off and die a lonely death of old age with no one caring.

This is the people that are utterly lawless when it comes to God's authority. They are dominated by sin and don't even know it.

1 the Lost person thinks that he is free. But he is not. II peter 3:3-6

II Peter 3:3-6 3 Knowing this first, that there shall come in the last days scoffers, walking after their own lusts, 4 And saying, Where is the promise of his coming? for since the fathers fell asleep, all things continue as they were from the beginning of the creation. 5 For this they willingly are ignorant of, that by the word of God the heavens were of old, and the earth standing out of the water and in the water:6 Whereby the world that then was, being overflowed with water, perished: ([KJV]) 

Then there is the dog that has to be kept on a chain and only can go a few feet because they can not be trusted. Their boundaries are set because they tend to run. Story of Grandma and Leslie the little dog

When I was going up there was  a big oak tree, I think it was an oak tree anyway it was a monster. Grandma had planted flowers around it and brought in a good mixture of dirt and sand along with putting timber around it to make it look nice. Well her flowers didn't fair so well so all us grand kids used it as a play box or sand box. 

Now one year my cousin Leslie was up visiting from California and we were all playing in the sand box when he decided he would run off to the barn. Grandma Nona came out and took a head count and asked where Leslie was, (not to mention names because honestly I don't remember) someone pointed toward the barn down the road. Grandmother took off just a high steppin, now she was only 4'9 or 5 foot but she could move for a short lady.

A little while later here she came back with Leslie and she said " boy you better not run off again."

Grandma Nona went back inside the house and wasn't long till Leslie was gone again. This time when she came to do a head count no one had to point out to where he was, off she went back to the barn. Now this time when she returned she told him, " boy if you run off again, I'm gonna get one of your grand pa's coon dogs collar's and chain you up."

Well that didn't seem to deter him because no more had she got into the house and he took off again. This time when grand ma Nona came out the rest of us grand kids could see she meant business. She went round to the old smoke house down by the dog pens and came back with a small dog chain and collar and off to the barn she went. She brought Leslie back to the house and took and hooked that chain to the side of the porch and went back into the house. 

Wasn't long till Leslie started scratching on the wooden screen door and making a barking sound. He didn't quit until grand ma Nona came to the screen door and asked "Leslie what in the world are you doing?" Leslie's answer was " grand ma this little doggy wants a drink of water." 

The point to this story, Grandma put him on that chain, because she had warned him and he couldn't be trusted, he was disobedient.

There are those who tend to try and establish their own righteousness and have not submitted themselves to the righteousness of God. Romans 10:3 says this: Romans 10:3 For they being ignorant of God's righteousness, and going about to establish their own righteousness, have not submitted themselves unto the righteousness of God. ([KJV]) 

Let us go on through verse 6.

Romans 10:4-6   4 For Christ is the end of the law for righteousness to every one that believeth. 5 For Moses describeth the righteousness which is of the law, That the man which doeth those things shall live by them. 6 But the righteousness which is of faith speaketh on this wise, Say not in thine heart, Who shall ascend into heaven? (that is, to bring Christ down from above:) ([KJV])

Those are the ones that want to stay under the law to have that chain, so they can stay in bounds. Those who say that unless the law is kept God will punish. Paul has to remind the Corinthians about this II Corinthians 5:17 Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.

Paul has to remind them that Jesus lives in them and them in Jesus and that their fallen nature is dead.

Then we see the third dog that needs no chain, because he knows and loves his master. They have experienced the truth and the truth has made them free. John 8:32 And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free. That dog is there waiting and obeying his masters commands not out of fear but out of love. He is guided by his masters eyes and voice

John 10:14-16      14 I am the good shepherd, and know my sheep, and am known of mine. 15 As the Father knoweth me, even so know I the Father: and I lay down my life for the sheep. 16 And other sheep I have, which are not of this fold: them also I must bring, and they shall hear my voice; and there shall be one fold, and one shepherd. ([KJV])

John 10:24-30     24 Then came the Jews round about him, and said unto him, How long dost thou make us to doubt? If thou be the Christ, tell us plainly. 25 Jesus answered them, I told you, and ye believed not: the works that I do in my Father's name, they bear witness of me. 26 But ye believe not, because ye are not of my sheep, as I said unto you. 27 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: 28 And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand. 29 My Father, which gave them me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father's hand. 30 I and my Father are one. ( [KJV])

If you are one of his, you should hear his voice and obey his calling. An interesting thing about sheep, they do know their shepherd's voice. If a stranger comes upon them they will not listen. That is something to think about. He tells those Jews who sat around him that they do not understand his words. because they believed not and were not his. Now they could have became his if they had believed. Let's go back to the beginning of John chapter ten just for a moment and look as Jesus is plainly telling them who he is. 

John 10:1-7    1 Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that entereth not by the door into the sheepfold, but climbeth up some other way, the same is a thief and a robber. 2 But he that entereth in by the door is the shepherd of the sheep. 3 To him the porter openeth; and the sheep hear his voice: and he calleth his own sheep by name, and leadeth them out. 4 And when he putteth forth his own sheep, he goeth before them, and the sheep follow him: for they know his voice. 5 And a stranger will they not follow, but will flee from him: for they know not the voice of strangers. 6 This parable spake Jesus unto them: but they understood not what things they were which he spake unto them. 7 Then said Jesus unto them again, Verily, verily, I say unto you, I am the door of the sheep.  ( [KJV])


Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started